Jesus, LIFE IN GENERAL, Soul, Spirit

Spoken desires to Someone

There are many moments when other people will tell me or my mom or some of my friends.. “ang ganda ng prayer mo (your prayer was beautiful)” or “ang galing mo mag-pray (you pray really well).” At some point, I do not understand their amazement on HOW we pray… for me what is more amazing is the ONE WHOM WE PRAY TO. 🙂

Early this morning, I had the great privilege to have an audience with the God of the Universe, and during our conversation, He gave me a great reminder.

Proverbs 3:5-6

5 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding.

6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

I have come across this passage a lot of times in the course of my walk with Jesus, but it never fails to amaze me. So today, I revisited the meaning of these verses and I was renewed and reminded about the God I pray to, the God I trust.

Do you know the meaning of TRUST? BIG WORD!

Well, according to the dictionary, it is both a NOUN and a VERB. This means that it is an abstract idea that can be put to action. Yes, trust is not tangible like a book or this computer, but it can be exercised in the daily lives of women and men. The dictionary further expressed that TRUST as a noun refers to the “firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability or strength of someone or something.” When it is considered as a verb, the firm belief is transformed to BELIEVE. You actually do something. You believe this reliable, true, able and strong SOMEONE. Thus, we can say that..

TRUST is a FIRM BELIEF PUT INTO ACTION because of the ATTRIBUTES OF SOMEONE WORTH TRUSTING.

The dictionary I was using also had a short note on the origin of the word. It says that the word TRUST comes from the Old Norse traust which cam from traustr which means STRONG.

This for me added more meaning to the word trust. I can only TRUST someone who is STRONG. STRONGER THAN ME.

Who then is strong? The verse says TRUST in the LORD.

WHO IS YOUR LORD? Well it can be a lot of people and a lot of things, but for me my LORD is known as JESUS CHRIST – the LORD of LORDS and the KING of KINGS.

My reliable dictionary defines LORD as someone who has power, authority, influence, a master or ruler.

Now tell me, who rules  your life? Are you sure that the one you trust your life to is STRONG? Is he/she worthy of entrusting your life to?

Definitely, it cannot be yourself. You cannot trust your own understanding. You cannot fully trust humans for your life.. we are all fallible beings and we are not strong all the time.

Once you know who to trust.. In what manner, then, do we trust?

The Bible says with ALL THINE HEART. ❤

This means everything that we have – our emotions, our being, our source of life (literally and figuratively).

By trusting with all our hearts we will ACKNOWLEDGE GOD IN ALL OUR WAYS… This means we make Him part of everything – our hopes, our plans, our fears, our joys, our pains, our dreams. When He is part of our life, He directs our steps. He makes the road easier for us because we are looking unto His strength and not our own.

So, when people tell me, you prayed really well… at the back of my mind, I know that my prayers are but a confession of my hopes, my fears, my gratitude, my love, my spoken desires to Someone Strong… someone whom I can trust.. someone who knows my heart.. someone who will direct my paths. It is not the choice of my words that are beautiful, it is the choice of my heart. I choose Jesus. Whom do you choose?

Leave a Reply

